Error
  • JLIB_APPLICATION_ERROR_COMPONENT_NOT_LOADING
  • JLIB_APPLICATION_ERROR_COMPONENT_NOT_LOADING
  • Error loading component: com_content, 1
  • Error loading component: com_content, 1
  • Error loading component: com_content, 1
  • Error loading component: com_content, 1
  • Error loading component: com_content, 1
  • Error loading component: com_content, 1

travel planning

 

Use the net to check out the shortest way to reach that wedding on time (would your wife-to-be forgive you?) or locate that B&B in the middle-of-nowhere.  Locate places using grid references, place names, telephone code or their postcode.  Download and print maps and directions.  Many map sites also allow you to find event information and book a restaurant based on it's 'what's nearby' functionality.  Of course, you may simply rely on your satnav/iphone/pad gizmo, but sometimes a hardcopy map is the best option (especially when your battery dies, you drop your iphone in that cowpat, or some space junk has collided with the GPS satellites).

Encarta mappoint.msn.com - Providing a world atlas, traffic maps, city guides as well as driving directions.

Expedia Maps www.maps.expedia.co.uk – Road maps for the UK or North America.

Green Flag www.greenflag.co.uk – European coverage as far as Turkey.

Get Mapping www.getmapping.com – Help the Queen boost the share price of this dotcom biz in which she has a stake in by purchasing an aerial photo of your home! Getmapping has created the most comprehensive and detailed aerial photographic record covering the UK, known as the Millennium Map. They now offer a range of unique products using photography from the Millennium Map, including hardcopy prints and digital aerial images sent by e-mail.

The Rambler's Association www.ramblers.org.uk Ramblers tend to go on, and on, and this site does too, but at least it's of interest. There are hundreds of long distance walking routes in the British Isles, and many more shorter local waymarked routes, covering every corner of the land and varying in length from short health walks up to lengthy trails of 1000km/600 miles or more. This site lists many of these routes so get your boots on.

Street Map www.streetmap.co.uk – This site provides address searching and street map facilities for the UK. Search by telephone code, postcode, street name or OS grid reference!  Zoom in or out to your hearts content.

Maporama www.maporama.com – Possibly the European market leader in online mapping.  Offering door-to-door itineraries for French towns of over 30,000 inhabitants and 50,000 in the UK.

Mappy www.mappy.com - Traffic info, European driving directions.

Map Quest www.mapquest.com – Driving directions, live traffic conditions and of course – maps!

Maps Worldwide www.mapsworldwide.com – After a map or the latest route-planning CD-ROM?  This site should be able to help and gives you up to 20% off on Ordnance Survey maps.

Michelin www.viamichelin.com – European road directions available in English, German, French, Spanish and Italian.  Also calculates cost of petrol which is very nice.

Multimap www.multimap.com – Aerial photos, traffic info, London Tube map and worldwide maps. – Recently revised and possibly the number one map site for the UK.  Search with place names or postcodes.

Ordnance Survey www.ordsvy.gov.uk - Packed with information on OS maps, guides and CDROMs.  Good source for digital data for your GIS or positioning system.

Old Maps www.old-maps.co.uk – Very interesting site giving access to over 85,000 historical maps of the UK.  See what your area was like 200 years ago!

RAC www.rac.co.uk – Prone to crashing, but useful.  Includes European coverage and very clear directions. Label your own map, zoom around and measure Europe. Beat the M25's jams by finding alternative routes.  You can even receive warnings of hold-ups by email – useful in the unlikely event that they happen before you leave the office!

Traffic Master www.trafficmaster.net - Check the state of traffic congestion before you set out. Indicates speed and direction of congestion. Check out the year round Christmas lights around London...

Walking World www.walkingworld.com - Contains fantastic detailed photographic guides to over 1700 walks in the UK. Thers an interactive map - just click in the area of your choice or use the advanced search option.


 

 

/
template joomla by JoomSpirit